NIT Agartala North East Zone

Prof. H. K. Sharma ( Director )

National Institute of Technology Agartala, a centrally funded Institution is setup to impart quality technical education into various levels of higher learning. It may be mentioned here that the 23rd February 2006 is a Red Letter Day in the history of Tripura Engineering College as well as for the State of Tripura as the Union Cabinet approved the proposal of State Government for conversion of Tripura Engineering College to National Institute of Technology, a fully Central Government funded Institution with Deemed to be University status and would also to become a National Centre of Excellence.

The Institute (i.e. erstwhile Tripura Engineering College) was established in 1965 with the three traditional branches of Civil, Electrical and Mechanical Engineering. It was initially affiliated to Calcutta University and had the same curriculum structure and examination system at par with Bengal Engineering College (presently Bengal Engineering and Science University, Shibpur). After the establishment of Tripura University, the Institute was affiliated to the new Tripura University. The Institute is approved by All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE). Read More

Address and contact details: NIT Agartala

Address: National Institute of Technology, Agartala, P.O.: Former Tripura Engineering College, Barjala, Jirania, TRIPURA (W), Pin: 799046
Director: Prof. H. K. Sharma
Registrar: Dr. Govind Bhargava
Contact No. 0381 2546629, 0381-2546630
Fax. 0381-2548512